NYC -Grand Central Terminal

photo 4 (2)

photo 3 (2)

Sometimes we find inspiration in life in most unexpected places…NYC is one those places. At first, all the loud sirens, colossal crowds, never ending traffic seem anything but inspiring. But when I am in the city, I always feel inspired…

Super Bowl weekend in the city was one of the most crowded, frenetic, yet most exciting weekend ever. With snow storms and zealot crowds the city just seems to stick to its tradition of keeping her inhabitants on the edge.

Every time I am in the city, I try to stay in a different hotel and just like the cafes and bistros I like to sample new one out each time. This time I chose Kitano-New York, Park Avenue. Kitano is a cute, Japanese themed hotel in the quiet Murray neighborhood. Did I also tell you that they have heated seats in their lovely bathrooms?:)

Kitano-New York is only a block down from the Grand Central Terminal and a ten minute walk to more touristy Times Square area.

Sometimes, I am glad I’m just a visitor of the city, not one of her inhabitants. Simply, because my visiting, strolling self is able to enjoy the quiet allure of places like the Grand Central Terminal leisurely.

photo 2 (3)

photo 6

photo 8

photo 7

I absolutely loved waking up and strolling down to the Grand Central Terminal in the weekend mornings to capture the allure of it. It is awe-inspiring to see the beauty of the Grand Central Terminal, which has not diminished even a bit by thousands of passengers travelling through it daily.

photo 1 (5)

photo 1

photo 2 (4)

Stepping on to the Terminal just might give you the feeling that you are in a museum that showcases the history and architecture of 100+ years. The architecture of the terminal itself is so inspiring; I could not resist myself to snap away everything my eyes came across. For a moment, I felt as if I was standing still, while everything in front of me was moving like a scenes from a movie. Some passengers crossing through the station even slowed down with a smile, so I can capture the splendor of the terminal in still prints.

photo 2

All the quaint boutiques, cafes and spice shops spread across the Grand Central Terminal were also too beautiful to ignore. I could not resist myself to grab a cup of latte with Pain au chocolat from Zaro’s bakery there, while enjoying the views of the terminal and its travelers.

photo 5 (2)

photo 9

photo 3 (3)A

What you have heard all along is so true!!! The Grand Central Terminal in New York may be one of the most beautiful stations in the world. If you are in the city, don’t forget to visit this beauty, you may very well feel like you’re in a scene of a Hollywood movie.

So, where was I strolling after the Grand Central station?…. I found myself strolling down Fifth Avenue, which is more magnificent than the Magnificent Mile ;)…I just can’t wait to share with you all the pictures and stories from the stroll down the fifth… in my next post….

Leave a comment